Remember when we used to draw faces,Out of the stucco on the walls?

Or how about that time we jumped up and down

Until you experienced your first cramp?

Who knew where you got these crazy ideas

But you did, and you swore they would take you somewhere in life.

We skipped throughout the entire day

As if our lives were a real-life Disney Princess movie.

But now, I skip back to those moments and memories

To escape today’s reality.

You were so young and bright

Full of hopes and dreams

But I skip back to those moments to try to hold onto you.

It’s so different now and I feel like you would be disappointed

To see what life has become…

To see that nothing you were so sure of came true.

I try to look back at what happened

Almost as if I could run into you at any given moment

And have an answer prepared.

I want to blame your parents

For making you feel like you had to skip

Over most of your childhood,

Growing up faster than the other kids in your class.

 

I know it’s been a while since we last saw each other.

I didn’t mean to take you down memory lane.

And as awkward as overdue reunions go,

Can we hangout again?

Maybe we can meet at a park

And compete to see who could swing the highest

Like old times.

Or skip until our legs can’t possibly skip another block.

 

You know how Dad used to always say that one day, you’re going to look back and say that life happened in the blink of an eye?

Well, all those times you shook your head and laughed at him, I can sure tell you that he was right.

Don’t ever grow up. Stay the way you are. So that I can come back and visit you from time to time

And remind myself that we’re the same people and

Age doesn’t take away our magic

And that skipping never gets old.

 

 

Sincerely,

You

Leave a comment